Parque Tanguá
Jardim Botânico
Parque Barigui
Ópera de Arame
Paço da Liberdade
Fim de tarde em Curitiba-PR
previous arrow
next arrow


SBQS 2018: XVII Brazilian Symposium on Software Quality

October 17 - 19, 2018 Curitiba, Paraná, Brasil



The Brazilian Software Quality Symposium (SBQS) is the main Brazilian forum dedicated to Software Quality. The quality of software manifests itself in two complementary and dependent aspects: Process Quality and Product Quality. With the current heavy reliance on software and aggregated services, research into software quality and its application in products and services is both a necessity and a differential to provide value to organizations and their businesses.

Since its inception, the SBQS has been instrumental in the exchange of experiences between academia and industry, where researchers, educators, and the Software Quality and Software Engineering practice community meet to present and discuss ideas, experiences, and discoveries with a view to to innovation with the potential to positively influence the software industry. The SBQS 2018 will have 3 tracks: Technical Work Track, Experience Report Track and Software Quality Education Track.

Aim and Scope

This track is interested in contributions that are based on practical cases, where approaches, models, techniques, tools, etc. that support Software Quality have been used in companies, generating new knowledge after its evaluation. Its main purpose is to bring to the public the SBQS reports of experiences that can be discussed and implemented by other companies and / or considered as relevant knowledge for future research in Software Quality.

Topics of Interest

Submissions on all topics related to Software Quality are welcome. Topics of interest to the trail include (but are not limited to):

  • Software Processes, Methods and Tools
  • High Maturity and Statistical Process Control
  • Acquisition of Software Products
  • Acquisition of IT Services
  • Process Evaluation
  • Product Evaluation
  • Requirements Engineering
  • Human Factors and Social Aspects in Software Quality
  • Quality Assurance of IT Services
  • Software Quality Assurance
  • Configuration Management
  • Knowledge Management and Organizational Learning
  • Portfolio and Project Management
  • People management
  • Software Process Lines
  • Software Product Lines
  • Maintenance and Evolution of Software
  • Measurement and Analysis
  • Improving IT Service Processes
  • Software Process Improvement
  • Agile Software Development Methods
  • Process Modeling
  • Models and Standards of Capacity and Maturity
  • Project (Design) and Integration of Software and IT Services
  • Quality of Software applied to IT Services
  • Software Reuse and Services
  • Usability and User Experience
  • Value in Software Quality
  • Verification, Validation and Testing

Evaluating Criteria

Articles of this track will be evaluated considering their originality, relevance, technical solidity and clarity of presentation.

Important Dates

Registration of articles (submission of abstracts):   June 25, 2018 July 09, 2018

Submission of Articles: July 02, 2018 July 09, 2018 

Period for rebuttal: August 06 - 12, 2018

Notification of acceptance: August 20, 2018 

Delivery of the final version of the articles: August 27, 2018  

Manuscript Preparation and Submission  

ll submissions must be in Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) and must comply with the ACM 2-column conference (ACM_SigConf) format available at They must be no longer than 10 pages, including all figures, tables, appendixes, references and acknowledgement. Papers must be submitted electronically through JEMS system (

Papers must be written in Portuguese or English. Submissions in English are strongly encouraged since the symposium proceedings will be indexed in the ACM Digital Library. Papers written in Portuguese must include an abstract in English.

Submissions that are not in compliance with the required format or that are out of the scope of the Research Track will be rejected without reviewing.

The review process includes a rebuttal period in which the authors will have access to the reviewers’ comments and may argue and answer questions from the reviewers before the final acceptance/rejection decision.

The acceptance of a paper implies that at least one of its authors will register for the symposium to present it.

Papers submitted to the SBQS Research Track must not have been simultaneously submitted to any other forum (conference or journal), nor should they have already been published elsewhere.

Best Paper Award

Every year SBQS awards the best paper in each track. The Steering Committee awards the best paper based on the reviews and comments provided by the Program Committee. Awarded papers are announced during the event.

Program Chair

Adriano Bessa Albuquerque, UNIFOR

Steering Committee

Adriano Bessa Albuquerque (UNIFOR)

Ana Regina Cavalcanti da Rocha (COPPE/UFRJ)

Gleison Santos (UNIRIO)

Marcello Thiry (UNIVALI)

Monalessa Perini Barcellos (UFES)

Sheila Reinehr (PUCPR)

Tayana Conte (UFAM)

Proceedings Chair

Ivan C. Machado (UFBA)

Program Committee

Adenilso Simao (ICMC-USP)

Adriano Albuquerque (UNIFOR)

Ahilton Barreto (BNDES)

Alexandre Vasconcelos (UFPE)

Aline Vasconcelos (Instituto Federal de Educação, Ciência e Tecnologia Fluminense)

Ana Liddy Magalhaes (UFMG / QualityFocus)

Ana Regina Rocha (COPPE/UFRJ)

Andre Menolli (UENP)

Andrea Barreto (BNDES)

Andreia Silva (Instituto Federal de Educação, Ciência e Tecnologia do Ceará)

Auri Marcelo Rizzo Vincenzi (UFSCAR)

Breno de França (UNICAMP)

Cristina Cerdeiral (UNIRIO)

Daniel Lucrédio (UFSCAR)

Davi Viana (UFMA)

Debora Paiva (UFMS)

Edson Oliveira Jr (UEM)

Fernanda Campos (UFJF)

Glauco Carneiro (UNIFACS)

Gleison Santos (UNIRIO)

Heitor Costa (UFLA)

Jean Hauck (UFSC)

José Maria David (UFJF)

Joselaine Valaski (PUCPR)

Kathia Marçal de Oliveira (Université de Valenciennes et du Hainaut-Cambrésis)

Leonardo Medeiros (Instituto Federal de Alagoas)

Luanna Lopes Lobato (UFG)

Marcelo Yamaguti (PUCRS)

Marco Paludo (PUCPR)

Maria Augusta Vieira Nelson (PUC-MG)

Maria Istela Cagnin (UFMS)

Marum Simão Filho (Centro Universitário 7 de Setembro)

Monalessa Perini Barcellos (UFES)

Natasha Valentim (UFPR)

Natália Chaves Lessa Schots (IM/UFRRJ)

Nilson Salvetti (Uninove)

Patricia Vilain (UFSC)

Paulo Parreira Júnior (UFLA)

Pedro Santos Neto (UFPI)

Raquel Stasiu (PUCPR/UTFPR)

Raul Wazlawick (UFSC)

Regina Braga (UFJF)

Reinaldo Cabral (UFAL)

Rodrigo Santos (UNIRIO)

Rossana Andrade (UFC)

Sandro Ronaldo Bezerr a Oliveira (UFPA)

Sergio T. Carvalho (UFG)

Sheila Reinehr (PUCPR)

Suzana Sampaio (UFRPE)

Toacy Oliveira (COPPE/UFRJ)

Uirá Kulesza (UFRN)

Vinicius Garcia (UFPE)

Todos os direitos reservados ao XVII Simpósio Brasileiro de Qualidade de Software.

Desenvolvido por Luan Melo e Cristiane Fabrício.